Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Northwestern University Prosthetics-Orthotics Center

The Tamarack Awards Exclusively for NUPOC MPO Students

The Tamarack Award Established 2014

In December 2014, the Tamarack Award was established at NUPOC by J. Martin Carlson, CPO, FAAOP. In 2016, Mr. Carlson established a second annual Tamarack Award. Each annual award represents a monetary prize of $2,000. The annual Tamarack Awards are conferred on two NUPOC MPO students who demonstrate excellence in orthotics and submit an original essay that details his/her commitment to orthotics. The NUPOC teaching faculty anonymously evaluates and votes for the two student awardees in December of the second year of MPO training. 

Goals of the Tamarack Award

The Tamarack Awards reward outstanding students who demonstrate excellence in orthotics. Students who best exemplify these characteristics are selected as award recipients:

Eligibility for the Tamarack Award

The competition is open to all full-time candidates enrolled in the second year of the Master’s of Prosthetics-Orthotics (MPO) program at the Northwestern University Prosthetics-Orthotics Center (NUPOC). 

Recognizing J. Martin Carlson and His Service to P&O

J. Martin Carlson, CPO, FAAOPJ. Martin "Marty" Carlson, CPO, FAAOP, owner and chief engineer of Tamarack Habilitation Technologies (Blaine, MN), has established the Tamarack Award at NUPOC. Mr. Carlson holds degrees in aeronautics and mechanical engineering and certifications in prosthetics-orthotics. He is a published researcher, teacher, entrepreneur, and innovator who developed the Carlson AFO Modification technique, the Gillette orthotic seating system, Tamarack ankle joints, and others. Mr. Carlson was recognized by the American Academy of Orthotists and Prosthetists with the Titus-Ferguson Award (2009) and the Clinical Creativity Award (1997).

NUPOC deeply appreciates the generosity of Mr. Carlson for bestowing the annual Tamarack Awards at NUPOC. 

Tamarack Award Recipients

Sheila Pach & Kyle Miller (MPO 2018)

Sheila Pach and Kyle Miller  


2017     Kyle Miller (MPO 2018)
2017     Sheila Pach (MPO 2018)
2016     Samantha Wright (MPO 2017)
2016     Joshua Zumbrun (MPO 2017)
2015     Kate Binder (MPO 2016)
2014     Christian Rae S. Figueroa (MPO 2015)